It’s Not Quite a Horoscope…

…but it feels equally as generic, in concept. And yet…

I stumbled across another blog ages ago – so long ago that I cannot even remember which site it was – that talked about a book she called very “woo woo,” as in, New Agey and maybe even sprinkled with some Hocus Pocus. But the blogger also mentioned that she was shocked at how relevant the book seemed to be, pinpointing things in her life that were accurate.

My library had it, so I figured I might as well check it out. And so I got the ebook version of Dan Millman’s The Life You Were Born to Live: a Guide to Finding Your Life Purpose. The concept is that, based solely on your birth date, you can determine what your biggest challenges in life are, your strengths, weaknesses, relationship highs and lows, and potential. Millman then provides some pages on helping you work through your challenges and weaknesses (based, of course, just on your birthday.)

I decide to read the book all the way through, even the sections that are not “relevant” to my birth date, to see if it all seems to be partially true – as often horoscopes will be so absurdly generic that they could fit anyone. And yes, to an extent, I read a lot of sections and a handful of things jump out as, “sure, that could maybe be me.”

But then I reach the section that is for me, and I nearly cry at the idea that, ‘someone gets me!” Oh the truths that were spoken to me!  Perhaps I am unique in the coincidence of my chapter resonating so strongly with me, but it is rather odd.

And, per my “life path,” one of my big struggles is in expressing myself. Millman suggest journaling as one possible method for releasing the pent up thoughts and emotions. Since it has been two years since I last wrote here, I thought this may be an opportune time to revisit my old site, and type with some free flow about the book, as I re-read it.

I was going to transcribe the parts from the book that resonated with me and jumped out, but there are just too many!  I will instead just focus on one: honest communication.

Millman talks about how people “working the 3 path” (meaning, based on the calculations of the birth date, one of the numbers you get is 3, and thus a part of your path is work on Sensitivity and Expression) may have under- or over-expressive issues before they find balance. I know for most of my life, I was a doormat. I wouldn’t speak up for myself, I would just bottle things up and burn with inner anger and fire. It would inevitably come out later at the wrong time, to the wrong person. I was often very volatile  with my family.  Over the years, I have come to realize that I can’t keep it in — but the pendulum has actually made a grand sweep the other way, and too far. I try to keep quiet or think of good ways to bring up issues, but I am finding more and more that tact is lacking, and I just blurt out whatever is “wrong” in my view, with what someone is doing. It is not a low-blow attack, no name calling or insults, but an absolutely blunt “here’s what you’re doing that I find annoying, now stop it” with seemingly no compassion, nor acknowledgement that whatever the person was doing may have been done with good intentions.

This is my current hurdle. To find a way to balance being open and honest in my communication, with honoring the other person and being kind and gracious.

So... whaddaya think?

