Meditative Ashtanga

I am in the process of learning the Ashtanga full series of yoga.  I never expected to enjoy it – I thought that it would become boring and routine to do the same set of poses over and over.  And, admittedly, since I’m still in process of learning the series, there’s a chance I will decide that later.

But today, I was loving it.  I have memorized Sun Salutations A and B, and was working through the Standing Poses.  But to be able to go at my own pace, and be forced to listen to my breathing to determine the rhythm of the asana flow, was shockingly meditative and calming.  I am so accustomed to power yoga, where ujayii breathing often is forgotten as I pant and sweat.  I may maintain a mental calmness through power yoga, but it is nothing compared to the physical calmness I felt in the series today.  It still created heat through the movements, still got me breathing, but it was all so controlled and expansive!

After working on that for 30 minutes, I sat down and meditated for 10 or 15 minutes to peaceful music. What an amazing way to start the day!

By findingsilverlinings Posted in Asana

So... whaddaya think?

