Quiet Yoga

I don’t intend to journal about every yoga exercise class I do. But I wanted to think about this one a little bit more.

I did the Yoga Journal’s 21 Day challenge, Intermediate level, and this morning was the first routine.

And it was one of the hardest ones I’ve done in a long time — but not because it was physically strenuous at all! Quite the contrary – it was so slow and simple, that my mind kept wandering!

For the past several weeks, I have been doing Power Yoga podcasts – they are intense, kick-your-butt, build-your-muscle, make-you-sweat awesomeness. And I love them! When that alarm goes off in the morning, it’s not a complete dread to drag myself out of bed and over to my yoga mat.

So when today’s class was 20 minutes of breathing while raising your arms – I thought I was going to go nuts. I was zoning out, thinking about the day, thinking about work, thinking about how bloody BORING it was!

Which defeats one of the purposes of yoga: to be mindful. To slow down, to be aware of your self.

This morning, that was the hardest lesson for me to learn — which is a good indicator that I need to work on it even more. I need to take time to slow down, quite my thoughts, and just enjoy deep, calming breaths.  Life is such a chaotic rush as it is, and we sometimes don’t know how to slow down and enjoy the moment, and take care of ourselves.

Breathe.

Sometimes, it’s these seemingly simple things that trip us up, even though they are vitally important.

“And after the earthquake a fire; but the Lord was not in the fire: and after the fire a still small voice.”
–1 Kings 19:12 (KJV)

“Be still, and know that I am God”
–Psalms 46:10a (NIV)

By findingsilverlinings Posted in Exercise

So... whaddaya think?

