40 Day Living Challenge!

Alrighty! It is almost 1am, but I am pumped for my next goal!!

Back in February, a series of steps lead me to a website for a Health Retreat called Tree of Life, run by Dr. Gabriel Cousens. It looked like an amazing and unique place of healing physically, emotionally, and spiritually though raw living foods, yoga, and meditation. (Hmmm, does that remind you of anyone you know? Maybe someone who writes a rambly blog you’re reading – RIGHT NOW?)

Tree of Life Rejuvination Center Logo

And low and behold – they are HIRING! The catch? They want you to have embraced their style of living, and require you to have been following a vegetarian diet for at least 3 months, and raw vegan for at least 1 month.

Well, the vegetarian part was easy – I rarely eat meat, so when I saw that *poof!* out went the remaining meat from my diet!

Now getting more strict has been a little more challenging. Typically, my diet is predominantly fruits, veggies, nuts, and seeds… but the 20-40% that wasn’t was… well… horrid! Ice cream, cake, brownies, fries…

So I have been gradually cutting all that junk out over the past 6 weeks, and I’m down to the last 6 weeks before the official three months of being vegetarian!

So it’s time to buckle down and crack that raw vegan plan!!!

I just got back from the grocery store (yep, nice and late!) I love the night shopping – it’s like the place empties out just for me 🙂 They’ve loaded the shelves with beautiful produce to prepare for the Saturday morning crowds – but I beat ’em to it!!

I have also decided how to treat myself for this 40 day plan. I bought several cute dishes and bowls at the store (which I’m sure you’ll see in future posts) to help with presentation of food. The way a food looks can make a huge impact on your enjoyment of the meal!

And my reward for finishing 40 days of 100% vegan, 80% raw will be…. drum roll…

Vitamix Blender

A Vitamix Blender!!!!

This is the hot mamma jamma of blenders!!  …Or so I keep hearing. And it’s something I’ve wanted for a while. I figure this will be great motivation to avoid those blasted brownies and dreadful dairy! I have already taken the time to scratch a quick note on the whiteboard in the hallway, so every morning I will see my Vitamix Countdown Goal!

I am PUMPED!!

Which makes it hard to go to bed, even though I have to get up in less than 7 hours to get ready for my yoga class!

So my new goals, to add to my old:
1. I will be 100% vegan, 80% raw for the next 40 days
2. I will post daily what foods I enjoy, even though some days will be repetitive – this will help keep me accountable
3. I will collect all my goals, summarize them here, and GET THEM POSTED WHERE I CAN SEE THEM EVERY MORNING AND THROUGHOUT THE DAY!

So there they are!

I am also excited to post about the various trash communities I’ve been researching, and the groups helping them. I am narrowing down on some organizations that I think I want to help!

But more on that later – it’s late, I’m tired, and tomorrow is a busy busy day!

Live out Loud!

So... whaddaya think?

